France bestows the Legion of Honour upon 12 veterans [fr]


General Hervé Gobilliard, Grand Officer of the Legion of Honour and President of the Legion of Honour Society, bestowed, on November 5, 2014, the Legion of Honour upon twelve Canadian WWII veterans in commemoration of the 70th anniversary of D-Day.

M. Russell Bannock
M. Roscoe Cummins
M. John Hall
M. Arthur Hems
M. Bernard Julott
Mme Helen Kerr
M. John Lambert
M. Mieczyslaw Lutczyk (Represented by his wife Virginia)
M. Samuel Martorino
M. Leopold Pikulski
M. William Talbot
M. Hallett Whitten

The prestigious Légion d’Honneur is France’s highest distinction. The Legion of Honour was established by Napoleon, for excellent civilian or military conduct, in 1802.

The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Gouvernor of Ontario, General Richard Giguère, Commandant of the Canadian Forces College, General François Loeuillet, in charge of the Foreign sections with SMLH, French Consul Jean-François Casabonne Masonnave, and many members of the Legion of Honour came to the Canadian Forces College to attend the official ceremony organized by the Consulate General of France in Toronto in honour of those heroes.

Several media also attended the ceremony. Discover the testimonies of some of the veterans who were awarded the Legion of Honour through their stories:

- CBC (English):

- Toronto Sun (English): (,.

- L’Express de Toronto (French):

- Le Métropolitain (French):

Last modified on 11/12/2017

top of the page